Brain Hype

Building Blogs of Science

“Successful human-to-human brain interface” screamed the headlines – and so there I was clicking my way around the internet to read about it.

Those who know me also know that this is the kind of stuff what makes me tick, ever since learning about the pioneering work of Miguel Nicolelis.  A bit over a decade ago I first heard of him, a Brazilian scientist working at Duke University in the Department where I spent a short tenure before moving to New Zealand. What I heard at the time was that he was attempting to extract signals from a brain and use them to control a robotic arm. I was quite puzzled by the proposition, I had been trained with the idea that each neuron in the brain is important and responsible of taking care of a specific bit of information. so thought I’d never get to see the idea…

View original post 1,222 more words

